webslave
Maintenance
Maintenance

About webslave

Post by webslave »

My Story
You can contact me directly by emailing support at ucpps dot men

https://www.ucpps.men/images/webslave-1.jpg

My name is Mark, I’m the webmaster here, and I call myself “webslave” on the internet. I started this site in the late 1990s because there was an abysmal lack of information for men with chronic prostatitis/CPPS on the web. The only site was prostatitis.org, which was (until 2021 when it thankfully closed down) a confused mish-mash of cockeyed theories and misinformation, specifically that CPPS is an infection of the prostate (disproved again and again by modern research).

My own case of CPPS started in 1991. I was an IT consultant, a systems analyst, controlling a team of programmers in a large institution. The pressure was intense. I worked most weekends. I used to find myself sweating with stress on occasion, and I had to get up and pace around the office every half hour to control the tension. I was involved in building key systems for the corporation and if I made the slightest error, millions of dollars could be lost. My life was ruled by unrealistic deadlines. At the same time I had a minor infection, probably chlamydial, successfully treated with antibiotics. I had the most senior people in the corporation calling me several times a day for updates and the conversations were often tense. Long story short, I developed a bad case of CPPS that made walking difficult, such was the extent of the pain, and I found it harder and harder to do my work, even though my employers allowed me to work from bed at home. When I finally resigned they replaced me with four people, which made me realise I’d been pushing myself much, much too hard.